Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 15, 2024
Uncategorised DStv Premiership Football Mamelodi Sundowns Moroka Swallows Orlando Pirates Stellenbosch FC SuperSport United

Mabasa, Mokwena And Mtshali Clinch DStv Premiership End-of-Season Awards

  • May 27, 2024
  • 2 min read
Mabasa, Mokwena And Mtshali Clinch DStv Premiership End-of-Season Awards

Tshegofatso Mabasa of Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns’ coach Rulani Mokwena capped off the 2023/24 DStv Premiership season in style by claiming the Player and Coach of the Month awards for May, respectively.

Mabasa’s Golden Month Seals Top Scorer Award

In a season-defining May for Mabasa, the striker bagged a league-leading five goals in five matches for the Buccaneers. His crucial strike on the final day against SuperSport United at Orlando Stadium on Saturday secured a coveted CAF Champions League spot for Pirates, edging out Stellenbosch FC on goal difference.

This prolific form also saw him clinch the league’s top scorer award, another last-day achievement. Notably, Mabasa becomes the second Pirates player to win a monthly individual honor this season following Thabiso Lebitso’s earlier success.

Mokwena Makes Coaching History

Sundowns’ dominance under Mokwena continued in May. The tactician steered the Brazilians to four wins, two draws, and just one defeat in seven matches. This impressive run remained unbroken until the final day slip-up against Cape Town City, Sundowns’ sole loss of the entire season. Mokwena’s tactical mastery during this period saw Sundowns score 10 goals while conceding only three. This May triumph marks his third Coach of the Month award this season, adding to his previous victories in August and April.

Mtshali’s Wonder Goal Secures Final Gong

Moroka Swallows’ midfield maestro Lindokuhle Mtshali bagged the final DStv Premiership Goal of the Month award for his technical masterpiece in May. Mtshali’s strike from the edge of the area in Swallows’ win over Stellenbosch FC showcased his exceptional skill and secured him a well-deserved accolade.

Award Winners Take Home Cash Prizes

All three award winners – Mabasa, Mokwena, and Mtshali – will receive a cash prize of R7,000 from league sponsors, DStv.

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *