Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 20, 2024
Sharks Challenge Cup Champions Cup Rugby Rugby World Cup Springboks URC

Sharks Revamp Roster For Champions Cup Challenge

  • June 4, 2024
  • 2 min read
Sharks Revamp Roster For Champions Cup Challenge

The Hollywoodbets Sharks are undergoing a significant squad overhaul in preparation for their upcoming Champions Cup debut.

This follows their Challenge Cup victory just two weeks ago, becoming the first South African club to win the European trophy and Sharks’ first major trophy.

The changes come after a disappointing United Rugby Championship (URC) season where they finished second-to-last.

The Sharks secured the services of Springbok World Cup winners, Andre Esterhuizen and Trevor Nyakane, along with rising stars Jordan Hendrikse and Emmanuel Tshituka (formerly of the Lions). However, to make room for the influx of talent, the Sharks parted ways with Curwin Bosch, Aphiwe Dyantyi, and Sikhumbuzo Notshe.

Departures Analyzed:

  • Bosch: Despite arriving in 2016 with high expectations, Bosch struggled to consistently deliver. The emergence of Siya Masuku and the arrival of Hendrikse made his departure a natural consequence. Bosch has signed with French side Brive.
  • Dyantyi: After a four-year doping ban, Dyantyi joined the Sharks but failed to recapture his 2018 World Rugby newcomer of the year form. Injuries further hampered his progress. Reports suggest he may join the Bulls in Pretoria.
  • Notshe: Injuries and a decline in form limited Notshe’s playing time this season. With several promising young loose forwards at the Sharks, his contract wasn’t renewed. He might be returning to the Western Cape.

Earlier, the Sharks announced the departure of Sevens legend Werner Kok (reportedly joining Ulster in Ireland). Additionally, scrumhalf Zee Mkhabela, winger Anthony Volmink, hooker Kerron van Vuuren, centre Murray Koster, and utility back Nevaldo Fleurs were all released.

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *