Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 15, 2024
Champions Cup Rugby Rugby World Cup

Antoine Dupont Named 2024 Investec Player Of The Year

  • May 26, 2024
  • 2 min read
Antoine Dupont Named 2024 Investec Player Of The Year

Stade Toulousain captain Antoine Dupont has cemented his place among rugby royalty by becoming the first player to win the prestigious Investec Player of the Year award twice.

After leading his team to a dramatic victory in the 2024 Investec Champions Cup final at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, Dupont secured the coveted individual accolade for the second time, having previously triumphed in 2021.

This latest distinction follows another exceptional season for Dupont. He was instrumental in both the pool and knockout stages of the Champions Cup, and his leadership culminated in Stade Toulousain’s championship win. Mirroring his 2021 performance, Dupont was named both Player of the Year and Player of the Match for his stellar showing in the tense, extra-time victory over Leinster Rugby.

Following the showpiece match, Olive Foley and her sons Tony and Dan presented Dupont with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy and a specially engraved medal. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to European club rugby.

Nearly 30,000 fans cast their votes on Investec, their choices combined with those of an expert panel. Once again, the fans and judges agreed, solidifying Dupont’s position as the season’s standout player.

Other nominees for the 2024 award included Leinster’s Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson-Park, James Lowe, and Dan Sheehan, alongside Northampton Saints’ Courtney Lawes and Fin Smith, and Harlequins’ Marcus Smith.

Judging Panel:

  • Jim Hamilton (two-time Investec Champions Cup winner)
  • Francois Louw (2019 Rugby World Cup winner)
  • Ugo Monye (TNT Sports and two-time EPCR Challenge Cup winner)
  • Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer)
  • Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and EPCR Challenge Cup winner)
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *