Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 20, 2024
Sharks Challenge Cup Champions Cup Rugby Springboks URC

Bruising Battle Between Sharks And Bulls In Durban

  • May 31, 2024
  • 2 min read
Bruising Battle Between Sharks And Bulls In Durban

The curtain falls on the Hollywoodbets Sharks’ 2023/24 Vodacom United Rugby Championship season this Saturday afternoon as they host the Vodacom Bulls at Hollywoodbets Kings Park.

Fresh off their EPCR Challenge Cup victory, the Sharks face one final, physically demanding test against their old rivals in this local derby.

The stakes are high for the Pretoria-based Bulls, currently sitting second in the URC log. They have a chance to snatch the top spot if current leaders Munster stumble against fellow Irish side Ulster. With Leinster and Glasgow Warriors hot on their heels, a loss could send the Bulls tumbling to fourth – a scenario they’ll be desperate to avoid. This makes for a mouthwatering derby clash.

While Sharks head coach John Plumtree will give some players a well-deserved break, he’ll retain key figures from last week’s historic final to maintain continuity. Plumtree will urge his team for one final push before a much-needed rest following a grueling seven months of competition.

“Signing off on a positive note is important,” Plumtree said. “The challenge is significant – our preparation time has been limited, and we’ve poured a lot of energy and effort into winning the Challenge Cup, which involved extensive travel.

“The team is understandably drained, and we have some injuries. However, in our final home game, it’s crucial that we deliver a performance that entertains the crowd.”

Hollywoodbets Sharks:

  1. Ox Nche
  2. Bongi Mbonambi
  3. Vincent Kock
  4. Corne Rahl
  5. Gerbrandt Grobler
  6. James Venter
  7. Vincent Tshituka
  8. Phepsi Buthelezi
  9. Cameron Wright
  10. Siya Masuku
  11. Eduan Keyter
  12. Francois Venter (c)
  13. Ethan Hooker
  14. Werner Kok
  15. Aphelele Fassi


  1. Fez Mbatha
  2. Ntuthuko Mchunu
  3. Khwezi Mona
  4. Jeandre Labuschagne
  5. Dylan Richardson
  6. Bradley Davids
  7. Boeta Chamberlain
  8. Diego Appollis
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *