Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 20, 2024
Football Africa Cup of Nations Bafana Bafana CAF Champions League DStv Premiership ES Tunis Mamelodi Sundowns Sekhukhune United

Mokwena Backs Williams For PSL Footballer Of The Year

  • April 24, 2024
  • 2 min read
Mokwena Backs Williams For PSL Footballer Of The Year

Mamelodi Sundowns coach Rulani Mokwena believes his goalkeeper Ronwen Williams deserves strong consideration for the PSL Footballer of the Year award.

Williams, fresh off his Golden Glove win with Bafana Bafana at the Africa Cup of Nations in February, has kept a remarkable 12 clean sheets in just 17 league appearances this season. He was rested for Sundowns’ 2-1 victory over Sekhukhune United on Wednesday due to their crucial CAF Champions League second leg against ES Esperance on Friday.

“It is a difficult one because there has been an unorthodox frontrunner and that’s Ronwen Williams,” said Mokwena. 

“It is unorthodox because we normally consider goalkeepers to receive such awards. I’m talking about football culture, worldwide.  

“I think that’s why they started creating individual awards like the Golden Gloves for goalkeepers, but it is an award that very seldom goes to a goalkeeper. 

“But when I look at Ronwen’s contribution this season to Sundowns, not only goalkeeping but on the infield, possession, in a way he tries to do the things, I think he’s head and shoulders (above) from the level of consistency.”

However, Mokwena acknowledges that Williams will face stiff competition, particularly from Orlando Pirates attacker Patrick Maswanganyi.

“A player like Patrick Maswanganyi deserves a special mention because I have been watching him,” said Mokwena.   

“He is peaking up towards the end of the season — and you know how the mind works, it remembers the recent. And of course, he deserves a mention and people will speak about him.  

“I agree because at the moment he is playing well, and he has made a great contribution.”

Mokwena also recognized the former winner, Teboho Mokoena, for his consistent performances. “Teboho Mokoena has been excellent again this season. He’s had patches where he has been up and down, he has had that,” he revealed.

If Williams wins the award, he would join Andre Arendse (2001/02) and Itumeleng Khune (2012/13) as the only goalkeepers to win the PSL Footballer of the Year during the PSL era.

About Author

Robin-Duke Madlala

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *