Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 14, 2024
PSL Play-Off Draw On Tuesday

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has announced that the much-anticipated Promotion Play-Off draw will take place on Tuesday, 21 May.

This exciting event determines which teams will compete for the coveted opportunity to gain promotion to the DStv Premiership.

Who’s Eligible?

The mini-league features three teams:

  • One team that finishes 15th in the DStv Premiership.
  • The second and third-placed finishers from the Motsepe Foundation Championship.

Current Standings:

  • DStv Premiership: Richards Bay currently sits in 15th place with 27 points after 28 matches.
  • Motsepe Foundation Championship: The race for the playoffs is heating up with four teams in contention. University of Pretoria (2nd), Baroka FC (3rd), JDR Stars (4th), and Maritzburg United (5th) are all vying for those coveted spots.

Key Dates:

  • 21 May: Promotion Play-Off Draw
  • 2 June: Play-Offs begin (fixtures detailed below)

Draw Procedure:

  • Club 1: This spot is automatically assigned to the team finishing 15th in the DStv Premiership.
  • Club 2 & Club 3: A public draw will determine which of the remaining Motsepe Foundation Championship teams will be Club 2 and Club 3.

Play-Off Fixture Schedule:

The Promotion Play-Offs will be played over six matchdays, with each team receiving a bye during the competition. Here’s a breakdown of the schedule:

  • 2 June: Club 3 vs. Club 2 (Club 1 receives a bye)
  • 5 June: Club 1 vs. Club 3 (Club 2 receives a bye)
  • 8 June: Club 2 vs. Club 1 (Club 3 receives a bye)
  • 12 June: Club 2 vs. Club 3 (Club 1 receives a bye)
  • 15 June: Club 3 vs. Club 1 (Club 2 receives a bye)
  • 19 June: Club 1 vs. Club 2 (Club 3 receives a bye)
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *