Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

July 17, 2024
Football Bafana Bafana DStv Premiership

Bafana Bafana To Face Mozambique, Eswatini, Botswana In The COSAFA Cup

  • June 14, 2024
  • 2 min read
Bafana Bafana To Face Mozambique, Eswatini, Botswana In The COSAFA Cup

South Africa and Botswana will meet once again in the most frequent encounter in COSAFA Cup history. The prestigious regional tournament runs from 26 June until 7 July.

The draw for the 12 participating teams placed these neighbors together for the ninth consecutive COSAFA Cup. Botswana remains winless in their 12 previous meetings against South Africa.

Group A also features Mozambique and Eswatini, setting the stage for a competitive group stage. Meanwhile, record seven-time champions Zambia aim for an unprecedented three-peat in Group B. They’ll face familiar foes Zimbabwe and Comoros, with the fourth team to be confirmed later.

Last year’s runners-up, Lesotho, find themselves in Group C alongside three-time winners Angola, 2015 champions Namibia, and Seychelles.

The pool games will be played from 26 June to 3 July, followed by the semifinals on 5 July. The final and third-place play-off will be held two days later. This format guarantees each team a minimum of three games and a maximum of five throughout the competition. It also allows for more rest days between most pool matches, benefiting player well-being.

COSAFA Cup: A History of Champions

The COSAFA Cup’s 22 editions have witnessed remarkable performances and unforgettable games, etching themselves into Southern African football folklore. However, only five nations have claimed the coveted trophy.

Zambia, with their back-to-back wins in 2023, now lead the pack with seven titles. They hold a one-title advantage over Zimbabwe. South Africa (five), Angola (three), and Namibia (one) are the only other teams to achieve regional glory.

Mozambique, Malawi, Botswana, and Lesotho have all reached the finals twice, but fell short on both occasions. Two-time guest nation Senegal remains the only other team to reach the final, losing to South Africa in 2021.

2024 COSAFA Groups

Group A: South Africa, Mozambique, Eswatini, Botswana

Group B: Zambia, Team to be confirmed, Comoros, Zimbabwe

Group C: Angola, Namibia, Lesotho, Seychelles

Picture courtesy of COSAFA

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *