Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 20, 2024
Ellis And Tshabalala To Battle For Big Gong

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has been shortlisted for the category of the COSAFA Women’s Coach of the Year.

The winner of the inaugural COSAFA awards will be announced at a gala awards ceremony in Durban on 19 April, with a panel of judges from across the region having assessed their achievements for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2023. 

Ellis, who is the toast in Africa now, is a heavy favorite to claim this award after leading Banyana to the FIFA Women’s World Cup round of 16 in New Zealand and Australia, the first time the senior national team from Mzansi has done that.  

She built that up after guiding Banyana to the WAFCON title in 2022 in Morocco, beating the hosts in the final. She was named CAF Women’s Coach of the Year in 2023.   

The former Banyana skipper is vying for the COSAFA Women’s award with Bruce Mwape, who guided Zambia at their first-ever Women’s World Cup and although they lost their first two games 5-0, they bounced back with a historic 3-1 win over Costa Rica in their final match.  

He has also led them to qualification for the next Women’s Africa Cup of Nations and the final round of qualifiers for the Olympic Games in Paris later this year.  

Finally on the shortlist is Jerry Tshabalala of Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies team. He led Sundowns to the finals of the CAF Women’s Champions League and clinched the 2023 title by winning all their matches in Ivory Coast without conceding a single goal.  

Tshabalala led Sundowns to the treble with victory in the COSAFA Women’s Champions League and their domestic Super League.  

Tshabalala and Ellis were also vying for the CAF Women’s Coach of the Year award last year, which was won by the latter.

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *