Cricket Rugby Soccer Sport news so fresh, its live!

June 20, 2024
Football Al Ahly DStv Premiership ES Tunis Mamelodi Sundowns

Sundowns To Share Club World Cup Stage With The Best

  • April 27, 2024
  • 2 min read
Sundowns To Share Club World Cup Stage With The Best

Mamelodi Sundowns will be one of four African representatives in the 32-team showpiece held in the United States. Despite qualifying for the Club World Cup, Sundowns fell short in the CAF Champions League semi final, losing 2-0 on aggregate to ES Esperance of Tunisia.

However, Sundowns can still celebrate securing a spot in the Club World Cup. This is because holders Al Ahly, who booked their place in the final by defeating TP Mazembe, already occupied the CAF Champions League winner’s spot. Esperance’s victory over Sundowns moved them into third place in the CAF Rankings pathway, but both they and Sundowns join Tunisian giants Esperance, Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca, and Al Ahly as Africa’s representatives.

Reports suggest that Sundowns will receive a significant financial reward of €50 million for qualifying for the Club World Cup. However, the South African Football Association (SAFA) is likely to receive a portion of this amount. The total prize money for the tournament hasn’t been officially announced by FIFA, but reports estimate it to be around €2.5 billion.

Former Ivory Coast forward Didier Drogba commented on the expanded Club World Cup, stating, “I think it’s a great opportunity for clubs and players to compete at the highest level of football. The World Cup only happens every four years, and not everyone gets the chance to participate.”

Qualified Teams by Confederation:

  • Africa (CAF):
    • Wydad (Morocco)
    • Al Ahly (Egypt)
    • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
    • ES Tunis (Tunisia)
  • Asia (AFC):
  • Asia (AFC)
  • Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)
  • Ulsan HD FC (Korea Republic)
  • Europe (UEFA):
  • Chelsea (England)
  • Real Madrid (Spain)
  • Manchester City (England)
  • Bayern Munich (Germany)
  • Paris Saint-Germain (France)
  • Inter Milan (Italy)
  • Porto (Portugal)
  • Benfica (Portugal)
  • Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
  • Juventus (Italy)
  • Atletico Madrid (Spain)
  • FC Salzburg (Austria)
  • North & Central America, Caribbean (Concacaf):
  • Monterrey (Mexico)
  • Seattle Sounders (United States)
  • Club Leon (Mexico)
  • Oceania (OFC):
    • Auckland City (New Zealand)
  • South America (CONMEBOL):
    • Palmeiras (Brazil)
    • Flamengo (Brazil)
    • Fluminense (Brazil)

Note: FIFA has yet to announce the date for the Club World Cup group stage draw.

About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *